Dosha Evalution

imageAccording to Ayurveda, there are five fundamental elements that nature is divided into:
Space (Akasha)
Air (Vayu)
Fire (Agni)
Water (Apu)
Earth (Prithvi)
These elements are also what encompass the human physiology. Therefore, everything that is in nature is also within us. By looking at what these elements do in the body and how they function together, Ayurveda pinpoints three principle physiological energies or forces, called Doshas. The three Doshas are known as Vata, Pitta, and Kapha. It is common for people to have a blend of these characteristics, but usually one will tend to be dominated.

If you are predominantly Vata, you tend to be thin, light, and quick in your thoughts and actions. Change is a constant part of your life. When Vata is balanced, you are creative, enthusiastic, and lively. But if Vata becomes excessive, you may develop anxiety, insomnia, or irregular digestion.

If the Pitta dosha is most lively in your nature, you tend to be muscular, smart, and determined. If balanced, you are warm, intelligent, and a good leader. If out of balance, Pitta can make you critical, irritable and aggressive.

If you have mostly Kapha in your nature, you tend to have a heavier frame, think and move more leisurely and are stable. When balanced, it creates calmness, sweetness, and loyalty. When excessive, Kapha can cause weight gain, congestion, and resistance to healthy change.